ANNE RICHMOND WORKED FOR UNITED NATIONS: ‘relatively new Metchosin resident, with long history of public service as a provincial civil servant in Ont., BC, international work for UK government, UN’ …wears purple proudly, endorsed by Randall Garrison, NDP MP + VLC

Published November 14, 2014 by goyodelarosa

About Me

Anne Richmond

Hi there!

I’m Anne Richmond, a relatively new Metchosin resident, with a long history of public service as a provincial civil servant in Ontario and BC, and international work for the UK government, the UN, and as a consultant.  I moved to Victoria in 1991, and in 2000 went overseas for what ended up being 9 years.  Returning home in 2009, I felt a great need to put down real roots, and there is no better place for that than Metchosin.  Now that I’m home at last, I want to use my skills and experience with government to benefit Metchosin and to work to preserve its unique character.

I am passionate about maintaining our rural nature, working to ensure that there can continue to be viable and sustainable rural livelihoods in our green oasis on the south Island.  Although I grew up in Toronto, my family lived half of the time on 60 acres in Grey County – in houses we built ourselves (and where finally getting indoor plumbing was a BIG thrill) – so coming back to a rural setting has been really important for me.

I’m an active member of the Metchosin Equestrian Society, Metchosin Rough Voices, and the Boards of the Metchosin Seniors’ Association (SIRC) and the Metchosin Arts and Cultural Centre Association (Treasurer).  I’m also a Board member of the Institute of Public Administration of Canada Victoria regional Group, and ASPECT, the Association of BC’s Community-Based Employment Training Providers. My partner Sheila and I live on Arden Road, in long time resident Bertha Schmidt’s former home, with our 2 Thai cats.

Endorsement:

“I know from being a municipal councillor how important it is to work with and respond to all citizens, and to work as a team on Council. From my long knowledge of Anne, as a colleague and friend, I believe she has the skills and more importantly the attitude it takes to be a good councillor.  I’d urge the citizens of Metchosin to vote for Anne.” RANDALL GARRISON, MP Esquimalt Juan de Fuca

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

